Billie Eilish’s new album leaves everyone feeling “Happier Than Ever”

Eilish announces her upcoming album as a new era of her career begins

May 27, 2021

With a new upcoming era for Billie Eilish, she has announced that she is releasing her new album Happier Than Ever on July 30. On social media, she released her first teaser on TikTok of her song “Happier than ever”. 

“This is my favorite thing I’ve ever created and I am so excited and nervous and EAGER for you to hear it,” stated Eilish in confirmation of her upcoming album.  

The album Happier Than Ever was created over the course of the pandemic as Eilish and her brother, Finneas, took advantage of quarantine to make the new album.

On The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, Eilish stated, “I don’t think I would’ve made the same album, or even the album at all, if it weren’t for COVID,” she told Colbert. “That doesn’t mean it’s about COVID at all, it’s just that, when things are different in your life, you’re different. That’s just how it is. So, I have to thank COVID for that, and that’s about it.”

In comparison to Eilish’s previous album When we all fall asleep, where do we go?, which seemed to have a darker or gothic vibe to it, the album Happier Than Ever seems to have a soft and sad aesthetic to it.

According to Eilish’s brother Finneas, who helped produce this album, “The first album was pretty pure in its intention. We didn’t set out to write a darling album. Our only target was to make an album that we liked, to play live. I think that’s all we’re gonna do for the second.”

On April 29 at 12 pm, Eilish released her teaser song called “Your Power.”  It features Eilish’s soft singing voice with a light and acoustic melody. The song seems relaxing until a wave of sadness comes with the lyrics.

The song revolves around ideas of sexual misconduct, sexual abuse, and unhealthy dynamics in a relationship.  The song talks about a woman in a relationship whose partner is abusing the power he has over her, “You made me feel / like it was my fault, you were the devil / Lost your appeal / Does it keep you in control? / For you to keep her in a cage? / And you swear you didn’t know / You said you thought she was your age.”

Including “Your Power” there will be 16 other tracks on the album. Here is the tracklist for Happier Than Ever:

  1. “Getting Older”
  2. “I Didn’t Change My Number”
  3. “Billie Bossa Nova”
  4. “my future”
  5. “Oxytocin”
  7. “Lost Cause”
  8. “Halley’s Comet”
  9. “Not My Responsibility”
  10. “OverHeated”
  11. “Everybody Dies”
  12. “Your Power”
  13. “NDA”
  14. “Therefore I Am”
  15. “Happier Than Ever”
  16. “Male Fantasy”


Leave a Comment

Panther Press • Copyright 2023 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All Panther Press Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *